Skip to toolbar

Better Church For This Generation and The Next. our services Tanzania Methodist Church Our Services

Better Church For This Generation and The Next.


Bishop Dr. Matthew Peter Byamungu

a first presiding Bishop and founder of Tanzania Methodist Church was born in 1954,

he joined the Asian Center for Theological Studies and Mission in Korea where he received his first theology degree. It was there he met his wife Je-Young Ryu, who was his interpreter and Korean tutor.  In 1984, after graduation he returned to Tanzania with her and engaged in evangelizing in secondary schools and universities in Dar es Salaam.


About TMC

The Methodist church was launched in 18 Century in England by John Wesley and spread all over the world, therefore the world Methodist Church headquarter is at Lake Junaluska in USA. Tanzania Methodist Church was registered to the World Methodist council on 1st of August 2011 and been recognized worldwide. The church also is a member of the African Methodist council. The headquarter is in Ghana.


Our Vision

To be complete, progressive Christian Church seeking to unite individuals and families of all generation with God’s unconditional love

Our Mission

We build healthy, mission TMC communities that engage faithfully with the world and share the gospel of Jesus Christ.

Our Values

Worship and praise • Compassion • Sense • Education

Child MinistryTMC Msasani Child and Youth Development Center

TMC Msasani Child and Youth Development Center is one among of twelve Child Development Centers of Dar-Es-Salaam Cluster established in Partnership with Compassion International Tanzania in 2012. TMC Msasani Child and Youth Development Centre is under Tanzania Methodist Church, located at Msasani, Kinondoni District in Dar-Es-Salaam Regional-Tanzania and it has 260 registered children aged 5-20 years old.

Diocese and Bishop

  • The diocese of Dar es salaam, -Bishop Allen Siso
  • The Diocese of Dodoma, -Bishop John Mjerwa
  • The Diocese of Arusha –Bishop Obed Sarakikya
  • The Diocese of Geita –Bishop Alikad Philipo
  • The Diocese of Manyara –Bishop Samweli Nyanza
  • The mission Diocese- Bishop Chondal Park